What I’m Reading This Week : August 4, 2021

Greetings comic book fans and welcome to another episode of the Crank File. Every Wednesday is new comic book day and on Tuesdays I like to spotlight some of the stuff I’ll be checking out.

Here’s what I’m reading this week:

The Top of the Pile: Seven to Eternity #17

Publisher: Image
Words: Rick Remender
Art: Jerome Opena

What it is: SERIES FINALE! ‘SPRINGS OF ZHAL,’ Conclusion – A rule is ended.

Why we love it: Seven to Eternity finally concludes after 5 years and 17 issues… they certainly captured the “Eternity”. Quality over quantity applies here though, because this comic is just so amazing. I would have read this series for another 20 years if it meant another 50 issues.

The Mainstream One: Joker Presents a Puzzlebox #1 (of 7)

Publisher: DC
Words: Matt Rosenberg
Art: Joshua Hixon, Jesus Merino

What it is: It’€™s story time! The G.C.P.D. discover a mysterious corpse, a magical box, and a murderer’€™s row of the city’€™s most dangerous villains sitting in a jail cell. Now all they need to figure out is what exactly happened. Fortunately, one suspect is willing to talk. Unfortunately, it’€™s The Joker. Now, superstar writer Matthew Rosenberg, magnificent artist Jesus Merino, and a multitude of rising-star artists invite you to spend a night in the Gotham Central interrogation room for a dozen tales of murder, mayhem, and mystery as told by the Clown Prince of Crime himself. Can you solve this puzzle before the sun comes up?

Why we like it: Matt Rosenberg excels at writing tight mini/maxi series, and stoked to see him doing a Joker story.

The Indie One: Trover Saves the Universe #1

Publisher: Image
Words and Art: Tess Stone

What it is: For fans of Rick and Morty and Mega Man! A new limited series filled with mystery, murder, and mayhem from fan-favorite author TESS STONE, set in the world of Rick and Morty co-creator JUSTIN ROILAND’s hit video game series Trover Saves the Universe! Welcome to the ICJ – Important Cosmic Jobs – where the boss ranks employees, and at the end of each month, the worst employee literally gets the axe. It’s… not a great gig. But when ICJ’s top eyehole monster winds up dead, the company’s most inept (and rival) employees, Klover and Bo, are falsely accused of his murder and hunted by the Space Cops! Now they must clear their names and unravel a conspiracy that reaches the very top…that is, if they don’t kill each other first!

Why we like it: Get up on out of here with my eyeholes!

The #1 One: Extreme Carnage Lash #1

Publisher: Marvel
Words and Art: Kaare Andrews

What it is: WITNESS THE BIRTH OF A NEW SYMBIOTE! Four issues into the Carnage event of the summer and the bodies just keep piling up – including some of the Venomaniacs the Mighty Marveldom know and love! But now is not a time to mourn for fallen heroes (or their symbiotes). CARNAGE is on the loose, and he’s building an army… Rated T+

Why we like it: We love symbiotes.

The One I’m Buying for the Cover: Batman #111

Publisher: DC
Words: James Tynion IV
Art: Ricardo Lopez Ortiz, Jorge Jimenez, Romulo Farjardo Jr.
Cover Art: Lucio Parillo

What it is: Mayor Nakano announces a crackdown on masked vigilantes just as the Magistrate moves against the Unsanity Collective. Batman attempts to avert a bloodbath, while the Scarecrow makes his final move…Fear State is about to begin! Backup: Ghost-Maker faces his most gruesome adversary yet…the horrific Razorline!

Why we like it: Lucio Parillo is known for painting gorgeous women, so you’d think Suicide Squad means a slutty Harley Quinn cover. Harles looks dece, but check out Polka-Dot Man spinning his paffs back there!

That’s all I got this week. Until next time, carpe comics!

Leave a Reply