The Crank File: What I’m Reading This Week – March 4, 2020

Greetings comic book fans and welcome to another episode of the Crank File. Every Wednesday is new comic book day and on Tuesdays I like to spotlight some of the stuff I’ll be checking out.

Here’s what I’m reading this week:

The Top of the Pile: Strange Adventures #1

Publisher: DC
Words: Tom King
Art: Mitch Gerads

What it is: After winning five Eisner Awards and topping year-end ‘best of lists,’ the comic book of 2019 was Mister Miracle. The comic book of 2020 will be Strange Adventures. The Mister Miracle team of writer Tom King and artist Mitch Gerads are joined by fan-favorite artist Evan ‘Doc’ Shaner to bring you an epic tale in the tradition of Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns, and DC: The New Frontier-a story of blood, war, and love that readers will be talking about for years to come. Adam Strange is the hero of Rann, a man famous throughout the galaxy for his bravery and honor. After leading his adopted home to victory in a great planetary war, Adam and his wife Alanna retire to Earth, where they are greeted by cheers, awards, and parades. But not all is as happy and nice as it seems, as the decisions Adam made during battles on Rann come back to haunt his family and threaten the entire DC Universe. And now a surprise DC hero will have to choose between saving Adam Strange and saving the world. A story like no other, Strange Adventures is an ambitious, thrilling, shocking, and beautiful 12-issue saga that will push Adam Strange to the breaking point-and beyond!

Why we love it: Tom King and Mitch Gerads will likely be remembered as one of the top writer/artist collabs of all time, consistently bringing mature and thought provoking stories that both entertain and challenge the reader’s ethos.  The sum of their work is far greater than their individual talent, and these two are both amazingly talented people. I cannot wait for this. 

The Mainstream One: Batman #90

Publisher: DC
Words: James Tynion IV
Art: Jorge Jimenez

What it is: The mysterious master criminal known only as the Designer once brought together Gotham City’s greatest criminals to plot the perfect crime, and now his plan has been unleashed upon the city in all its might. Batman will go to any length to uncover the grand design, but Catwoman is the one who holds the greatest secret. If Batman wins against the Designer, he will lose everything.

Why we like it: I thought the secret was going to be a reveal that Selina was preggos, but apparently its that she had given the Designer plans for stealing Bruce Wayne’s fortune.

The Indie One: The Butcher of Paris #4 (of 5)

Publisher: Dark Horse
Words: Stephanie Phillips
Art: Dean Kotz, Jason Wordie

What it is: Paris has been liberated, but as the citizens rejoice, the killer’s wave of terror begins to fade from the public eye–which means he has an opportunity to escape! Meanwhile, the French police begin strive to oust the remaining Nazis inhabiting in city. Could there be one hiding in their own ranks?

Why we like it: Based off real events, BoP serves up the history and horror of WWII Paris. Loving the dialogue and pace of this series. 

The #1 One: Strange Academy #1

Publisher: Marvel
Words: Skottie Young
Art: Humberto Ramos

What it is: A SORCERER SCHOOL FOR THE MARVEL UNIVERSE! The Marvel Universe has mysteriously changed in such an alarming way that Doctor Strange has done what he’s avoided for decades; he’s opened a school for young sorcerers. Young people from around the world with aptitude in magic have been brought together in New Orleans to study the Mystic Arts under Strange, Brother Voodoo, the Ancient One, the Scarlet Witch, Magik, Hellstrom and ALL your favorite Marvel magicians. But with all the new magical threats, is it too late?! Rated T

Why we like it: This would make a great Disney+ show. Hogwart’s done Marvel style. Skottie Young has proven he can write comics, and I think Ramos’ art style will work well on this title.

The One I’m Buying for the Cover: The Flash #750

Publisher: DC
Words and art:
A ton of people
Cover Art: Gabrielle Del’Otto

What it is: Beginning: “The Flash Age”! The story we’ve been building toward since issue #50 comes to a head! While a supercharged Speed Force wreaks havoc on Barry Allen’s life, a new threat appears on the horizon in the form of the deadly Paradox. Destined to destroy the Flash’s legacy, Paradox sends his herald, Godspeed, to trap the Flash family!

Plus, in this special anniversary issue: tales from across the generations of super-speedsters by an all-star lineup of writers and artists!

Why we like it: Lol, since issue #50? And this week is issue #750? Either use the Legacy numbering or don’t, DC. Anyways, awesome Del’Otto cover.

That’s all I got this week. Until next time, carpe comics!

Leave a Reply